For those who suffer from a gluten intolerance or celiac disease, it can be difficult to know which foods to avoid. Of course one must avoid gluten protein, however there are lots of foods in which gluten can hide.
Following is a comprehensive list of food items you may need to avoid if you are sensitive to gluten. Remember to always read the ingredients label of any food you eat.
Almost anything with wheat, rye, barley or oats
Cereals, breads, cookies, cakes, pies, muffins, rolls, crackers, pretzels etc.
Canned, Bottled, Jarred, Boxed Foods
Processed fruits and vegetables may contain gluten in the form of additives.
Seasonings, salad dressing, sauces, condiments etc.
Ice Cream, puddings, may candies like licorice etc.
Beer and many other alcoholic beverages, powdered juice drinks, instant tea, coffee etc.
Processed meats like sausages, deli meats, pate etc.
Pizza, Pasta, Many Asian Foods, Mexican, Toppings in Salads etc.
Lipstick or other lip products, toothpastes, vitamin supplements etc.