Gluten Free Vitamins

I am peanut, tree nut, dairy, wheat, and gluten free. I need more calcium and am having a hard time finding Vitamin companies that can be 100% sure that their products do not contain these ingredients. Do you know of any? (Pills only, no gummy, sugary types)


I published a recent post titled Food Allergies and Vitamins that does list the gummy type. However, if you prefer a pill that is not geared towards kids or isn’t extra sugary–the Allergy Free Shop carries a few varieties that are free of many allergens. Two brands are listed below.

Deva brand Vegan Multivitamin is labeled free from dairy/casein, egg and soy. It contains 260% of calcium.

Product Ingredients
Cellulose, Stearic Acid, Croscarmellose Sodium, Vegetable Stearate, Modified Cellulose Gum, Silicon Dioxide (All of the ingredients are from plant or mineral sources)


Freeda brand Chewable Calcium/Magnesium is labeled free from gluten/wheat, dairy, sugar, gelatin and yeast.

Product Ingredients
Calcium (as calcium carbonate) 800 mg
Magnesium 400 mg

If you are concerned about the presence of peanuts, tree nuts or other allergens I encourage you to contact the vitamin manufacturers. Diet/foods can be a good source of calcium as well. Non dairy foods that are high in calcium are Buffalo milk cottage cheese (paneer), tofu, soybeans, white beans, cabbage/bok choy among others.
Edited to add: On our facebook page Monica shares “Our allergist recommended Tums for our son who has the same allergies. It is the only calcium supplement that doesn’t seem to bother him.”
Thanks Monica, that is a great suggestion! Tums can be found almost anywhere, is relatively inexpensive and has a variety of tablets to choose from.
Have a question to ask? Use the “Ask Best Allergy Sites” box in the sidebar of our site or email your question to admin (at) bestallergysites (dot) com